Thursday, March 04, 2010

Colby's Crinnion Makes NESCAC's All-Conference Team

Colby College’s Billy Crinnion (Long Island, N.Y.), who led the New England Small College Athletic Conference in league scoring, was named to the 2010 NESCAC Men’s Hockey All-Conference Second Team on Thursday.

Crinnion, a junior forward, was tied for second in overall scoring in the conference with 12 goals and 19 assists for 31 points. He led in league scoring with eight goals and 18 assists for 26 points. Crinnion also ranked tied for second in the league in assists per game (0.83) and was tied for ninth in goals per game (0.52). He had five power play goals, one short-handed tally, and two game-winning goals.

Crinnion heads into his senior year with 24 goals and 35 assists for 59 career points in 71 games.

Colby finished 11-9-4 overall and made the NESCAC playoffs before losing a tough overtime battle with top-seeded Bowdoin last Saturday.

Alex Smigelski, the older brother of Colby first-year player Michael Smigelski, was named the NESCAC Player of the Year for Williams College. Michael Smigelski had a fine first season with the Mules, with 10 goals and three assists for 13 points.

2010 NESCAC Men’s Ice Hockey All-Conference Teams

First team: Martin Drolet, Middlebury, sophomore; Adam Houli, Trinity, junior; Alex Smigelski, Williams, senior; Brian Malchoff, Williams, junior; Kyle Shearer-Hardy, Bowdoin, junior; Scott Barchard, Tufts, sophomore

Second team: Billy Crinnion, Colby, junior; Tom Derosa, Tufts, junior; Anthony Sarpino, Hamilton, sophomore; Jamie Hawkrigg, Amherst, first year; B.J. Lalonde, Hamilton, sophomore; Wesley Vesprini, Trinity, junior

Player of the Year: Alex Smigelski, Williams, senior; Rookie of the Year: Daniel Weiniger, Bowdoin; Coach of the Year; Norm Bazin, Hamilton



CMSB Search


Maine Sports Media is part of the CMSB Media Group. Not all thoughts and posts directly represent our sponsors, followers, or fans.