Monday, May 02, 2011

Softball: UMF softball players earning All-NAC status

Three University of Maine at Farmington softball players were honored by the North Atlantic Conference today with all-conference distinction.

Junior first baseman Shannon Mitchell (Portsmouth, N.H.) was named to the All-NAC First Team, while senior catcher/designated player McKell Barnes (Durham, Maine, pictured above on right) and freshman third baseman Amy Jones (Augusta, Maine pictured above on left) were placed on the All-NAC Second Team

Mitchell earns the All-NAC First Team honor in her second sport after batting .301 with eight doubles, four home runs and 17 runs batted in. The junior was also named to the All-NAC First Team in women's volleyball in the fall.

This is the second all-conference recognition for Mitchell in softball as she nabbed All-NAC Second Team honors in 2009.

Barnes has received all-conference honors in each of her four seasons with the Beavers. The senior batted .325 with eight doubles, three home runs and a team-best 23 RBI.

The NAC Player of the Year in 2009, Barnes was named to the All-NAC First Team in 2009 and 2010 and NAC Honorable Mention in 2008. She also earned All-NAC First Team accolades in women's soccer in 2009.

Barnes leaves UMF as the program career leader in a number of categories including hits (145), doubles (44), home runs (24), RBI (116) and walks (59).

Mitchell and Barnes saved their best for NAC play as each batted over season averages (Mitchell .367, Barnes .381) in conference games.

Jones set the table for the Beavers as the freshman led the team in runs scored (29) and stolen bases (6) with a team-high four sacrifice flies. Jones batted .316 with four home runs and 16 RBI.

Barnes and Jones were named to the NAC All-Tournament Team this past weekend.

Husson University sophomore shortstop Aimee Mortensen was named the NAC Player of the Year. Maine Maritime sophomore catcher Leah Jackson garnered NAC Defensive Player of the Year honors with Castleton State College's Tori Fearon receiving NAC Rookie of the Year.

Thomas College's Terry Parlin was honored as the NAC Coach of the Year. Johnson State College claimed the Team Sportsmanship Award.



CMSB Search


Maine Sports Media is part of the CMSB Media Group. Not all thoughts and posts directly represent our sponsors, followers, or fans.