Tuesday, June 21, 2011

UMaine: Hall of Fame Class Announced

The University of Maine announced today that it has selected seven former student-athletes for induction into the 2011 Sports Hall of Fame. Former track and field student-athlete and coach Jim Ballinger (Maine ’66), basketball captain and benefactor Dick Collins (Maine ’59), women’s soccer great Linda Consolante-Hathorn (Maine ’06), football All-American Mark Coutts (Maine ’86), hockey standout Jimmy Howard, cross country captain William Hunnewell (Maine ’37) and Tim Tobin (Maine ’80) of the riflery team. The class will be inducted at a ceremony on the Orono campus on Friday, Sept. 30, 2011.

Ballinger was captain of the 1965-66 indoor track team. In 1963-64, he was Yankee Conference Champion in the 45-yard high hurdles and 65-yard high hurdles, setting meet records in both. In 1966, he was captain of the outdoor track team. He finished as the 1965 Maine State Champion in the 440-yard intermediate hurdles, setting a meet record. He also was the 1965 Yankee Conference Champion in the 440-intermediate hurdles where he also set a meet record. In 1966, he was the Maine State Champion in the 120-yard high hurdles, setting a meet record in the process. He won the Alan Hillman Memo rial Trophy in 1966, awarded annually to the most outstanding track and field athlete in the state at the MIAA Meet. He holds the 120-yard high hurdles record of 14.8 seconds set in 1966.

Ballinger was also a track and field and cross country coach at Maine for 30 years. He served as head men’s cross country coach from 1973-1999. He was the women’s cross country coach from 1977-1992. He was the men’s indoor track and field coach from 1986-2006 and the outdoor track and field coach from 1987-2006. He served as the women’s indoor track and field coach from 1976-2006 and the women’s outdoor coach from 1981-2006. The list of outstanding track and field athletes who competed for Ballinger are endless. In 1992, he led the men’s cross country team and the indoor track teams to the ECAC Championship. The women’s team won the 2003 New England Championship, while the 2004 men’s cross country team won the America East Championship. Ballinger has received numerous coaching awards, including conference cross country Coach of the Year honors in 1992, 1994 and 2004.

Collins was a letterwinner for the men’s basketball team from 1956-1959. He served as captain of the team during the 1958-59 season. Collins led Maine to its first winning season in 1958–59 with a record of 15-7. The team set a school record for wins that season. Collins has made multimillion dollar gifts to the University, including contributions to the Buchanan Alumni House, the Collins Center for the Arts, the Alfond Arena and Memorial Gymnasium. His gift to the Memorial Gymnasium and tireless work behind the scenes has the building on track to be renovated in the very near future.

Consolante-Hathorn is arguably the greatest women’s soccer player in Maine history. She was an America East First Team selection in 2001, 2002 and 2005, while earning a spot on the second team in 2003. She earned America East Defender of the Year in both 2002 and 2005. Consolante-Hathorn was a NSCAA/adidas regional All-American in 2002, 2003 and 2005. Consolante-Hathorn also excelled in the classroom. She was a four-time Maine Scholar-Athlete Award winner and was named to the America East Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll five times. She was named to the ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA All-Regional Team in 2005. In addition, Consolante-Hathorn competed in the prestigious FIFA World Cup, helping lead Canada to a fourth place finish in 2003. She is currently an assistant women’s soccer coach at Maine.

Coutts was captain of the 1985 Maine football team. He played on the 1982 Yankee Conference Championship Team under Ron Rogerson. In 1984, Coutts was a Second Team All-Yankee Conference selection where he led the team in tackles with 151. The 151 tackles are the third highest in program history. In 1985, Coutts was a First Team All-Yankee Conference, First Team All-New England and First Team All-American, along with being named Team MVP.

Howard had an outstanding career for the Black Bears. He was named an All-American in 2004 and was also named to the Hockey East First Team, Hockey East Top Goalie, the Hockey East All-Tournament Team and Hockey East Tournament Most Valuable Player in 2004. He led the Black Bears to a berth in the NCAA Title Game that year against Minnesota. He was also named All-New England and team MVP that season. Howard holds NCAA Records for goals against average in a season at 1.19 in 2003–04 and best save percentage with a .956 mark also in 2003–04. He set a school record with 63 saves in a triple overtime victory against UMass in the 2004 Hockey East title game. He holds Maine records for career shutouts with 15 and single season shutouts with six. Howard is currently the starting goalie for the Detroit Red Wings of the NHL. He was one of three finalists for the 2010 Calder Trophy for NHL Rookie of the Year.

Hunnewell was a standout in cross country in the mid-1930’s. He served as captain during the 1935 and 1936 seasons. In 1933, he was the Freshman National Champion. He finished third in the IC4A’s in 1936, fourth in 1935 and 11th in 1934. He won the New England Championship in 1935, finished second in 1934 and seventh in 1936.

Tobin was a two-year captain of the riflery team in 1977–78 and 1978–79. He was named a First Team All-American in 1978–79, one of only two Maine riflemen to be selected so. He was the New England Individual Champion in 1977–78 and 1978–79. The team compiled a record of 56-2 during his career. Maine was the New England team champion during all four of Tobin’s seasons.

The criteria for selection into the Hall of Fame is achievement in the athletic program, but other factors are also considered. They include character, leadership and integrity, as well as non-athletic service to the University community and achievement later in life.

The six will be inducted on September 30, 2011. The honorees will be recognized at halftime of the Maine football game against Delaware the following day. Tickets will be available starting July 15th at the University of Maine Ticket Office. Tickets may be purchased by calling 581-BEAR or 1-800-756-TEAM.

-UMaine Communications-



CMSB Search


Maine Sports Media is part of the CMSB Media Group. Not all thoughts and posts directly represent our sponsors, followers, or fans.